It is presumed to have been built by Artuqid Sultan Melik Nasreddin Artuqid Aslan in the beginning of the 13rd century. After many changes, restoration and additions to the building, where there is a double naved prayer room and which gives a scheme of porched courtyard and iwaned madrasa, little remained from the original design.
Ruined minaret of the building was built in the years 1916-1917 by Armanian architect Lole with an eclectic style and without a scaffold. One of the most changed part in madrasa is mosque. Mosque part, which is two transverse naved and seemingly had a highly deluxe front when it was first built, was 24 consistently changed.